Yoti integration : Member age verification

Yoti integration is available on Brand Communities, enabling age verification for members while meeting compliance and minors protection objectives. 

Important: this feature can only be enabled upon request. It is not active by default. 

Benefits of age verification

This feature was implemented to comply with the UK Online Safety Act (OSA), which came into force in July 2025 and requires platforms to protect minors from certain sensitive content.

By enabling Yoti integration, you can:

  • Verify members' age in a few simple and quick steps, without storing or sharing personal information.
  • Block access to potentially sensitive content until age is verified
  • Ensure legal compliance (adherence to UK OSA obligations) and minors protection without implementing a complex parental control system or overly intrusive content restrictions.

How it works on the community

To enable age verification with Yoti on your community, send a request to your CSM. You will then need to provide a few Yoti-related integration elements (SDK link, API key) to the Skeepers teams. 

Once the integration is enabled on your community, the following elements can be configured: 

Access permissions Gamification condition

When Yoti integration is enabled, a new condition "Verify your age" is available in the community's permissions. You can use it to: 

  • Restrict access to certain channels to members who have verified their age (AccessToChannel).
  • Hide content in search to prevent members who have not verified their age from accessing search results (Access to search page & contents).
  • Restrict access to profile activities, to hide posts or activities related to profiles
    (Access activity in profile).

You can choose to keep certain content accessible to everyone (e.g.: a channel where only admins can publish content) and reserve age restriction only for sensitive areas.

Concretely, if a member clicks on content/channel protected by this condition without having verified their age, a pop-up launches the Yoti flow. Once age is validated, the member is redirected to the page and the content is unlocked.

How it works for members

When a user encounters restricted content or a channel, a block displays the "Verify your age" condition to unlock the content. By clicking the button, they enter the Yoti flow:

  1. A screen explains that age estimation will be based on a photo, and mentions privacy and secure encryption elements.
  2. The user clicks Continue, confirms Yoti's opt-in, and clicks Continue again.
  3. The user grants camera access and positions their face in the circle for a few seconds.
  4. Yoti processes the photo, estimates the age, and immediately deletes the scan.

If Yoti confirms that the user meets the required age, they are redirected to the community and the content is unlocked. If age isn't validated, an error message is displayed and the user cannot access the content.

The member-side journey always follows the same logic. Only the preliminary steps (application, login, acceptance) change depending on the community type and the member's situation:

Closed community | New member

If the user is not yet a member of the community, here are the steps they will go through:

  1. On the community landing page, they click to apply.
  2. They fill in account information (username, email, password) and custom fields if configured.
  3. If social authentication is enabled, they must authenticate one or more social networks.
  4. The user then waits for their application to be accepted by an admin.

 

Once accepted as a member of the community, they follow the standard journey described above to verify their age and unlock restricted content.

Closed community | Existing member

The member is already logged into the community (or has just logged in). When they attempt to access restricted content or a channel, they directly follow the standard journey described above to verify their age.

Open community 

Before being able to verify their age, the member must log in or create an account.

 

Once logged in, if they have not yet verified their age, they follow the standard journey described above to unlock restricted content.

Privacy and data processing

Yoti is designed to be privacy-respectful:

  • No personally identifiable information is stored or shared.
  • The image is protected through secure encryption, then immediately deleted after estimation.
  • Yoti does not retain the image, reuse it, sell it, or use it to train its models.
  • Members do not need to create a Yoti account or provide an ID document for age estimation.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful